Does ice cream go bad?

Yes, ice cream can go bad. Like other foods it will have a best before date printed on the container. As a freezer item, it will be affected if improperly stored or may become freezer burned if stored too long. The typical shelf life of an unopened container of ice cream is about 2 months.