What were the first life forms on earth?

Single-celled organisms

---

The earliest direct evidence of life on earth are fossilized remains of microorganisms contained in Australian Apex chert rocks that are nearly 3.5 billion years old. Recent indirect evidence suggests bacteria-like organisms may have existed as long as 4.28 billion years ago.