What's the difference between an asteroid and a meteor?

An asteroid is any minor planet of the inner Solar System. A meteoroid is any object in space from the size of dust to small asteroid. If a meteoroid enters the Earth's atmosphere, often with brilliant trail of light, it is called a meteor. If the rock survives to land on Earth, it is a meteorite.