Why are cherries red?

The deep colour of tart red cherries is a clue to their health-promoting properties. They contain flavonoids called anthocyanins–naturally occurring pigment compounds that impart colour to fruit, vegetables, and plants. Flavonoids, which contain antioxidants, help to protect the plant from disease.

---

Cherries are not always red. Some are yellow, golden, or black. They are varying colors depending on the variety of the species.