Do people eat hippopotamuses?

Yes it is a meat traditionally eaten in some parts of Africa but today Hippos are protected as a species in danger and in most countries it would be illegal to kill a hippo or sell it's meat.

---

Yes, some people do eat hippopotamus meat. Hippopotamus meat is considered a delicacy in some parts of Africa, where the animal is native. However, it is important to note that hippopotamuses are also a protected species in many countries, and hunting or consuming their meat may be illegal.