When was credit invented?

In 1865, Charge coins are issued by department stores to extend holders’ credit. In 1935, Charge plates, the metal predecessors to credit cards, gain popularity in stores and remain popular through 1950. In 1950, Diner’s Club debuts. And in 1959, American Express uses the first plastic card.