Why are goldfish called goldfish?

Once breeding began, a color mutation appeared, resulting in yellow-orange scales. Yellow was designated the imperial color and forbidden to be kept by anyone other than members of the royal family. Commoners had to stick to the orange version, calling them goldfish.