How do you know when a watermelon is ready to eat?

I agree with tapping the melon and feeling the hollow sound. The rind it can be boiled (for awhile) and mashed up for making smoothies. Fiber, simple sugars and water. Also remove the thick skin from the rest of the rind so mashing is much easier for making making stuff that needs a binder.

---

Tapping on the watermelon when ripe will sound hollow.