What's the difference between insulin and basil bar?

A big advantage with basal insulin is that you need only one or two shots a day, sometimes less often, compared to bolus “meal” insulin. It also gives you more flexibility when and where you can eat, since you don’t need to time your injections to mealtimes or carry your insulin around.