Why do dogs have whiskers?

These specialized hairs aid vision and help a dog navigate his environment by providing additional sensory input, much like antennae on insects. Although called tactile hairs, they do not actually feel anything. They simply transmit information to sensory cells when they detect objects or movement.

---

Dogs have whiskers to help them explore the world by sending sensory information to the brain. Dogs don’t have the strongest eyesight so they rely on their whiskers, particularly when locating small objects or anything up close. Whiskers can assist with swimming, feeding, and hunting.