Can ants climb?

Ants that live on trees tend to be excellent climbers. They have tiny, hooked claws at the ends of their feet which help them walk on the undersides of leaves and limbs. Much like a human rock climber uses a hook, ants use their claws to cling to jagged features of the surface.