Where do poppies grow?

Poppies flourish in dry, warm climates and the vast majority of opium poppies are grown in a narrow, 4,500-mile stretch of mountains extending across central Asia from Turkey through Pakistan and Burma. Recently, the plant has been grown in Latin America, notably Colombia and Mexico.