Why do people belch?

Most belching is caused by swallowing excess air. This air most often never even reaches the stomach but accumulates in the esophagus. You may swallow excess air if you eat or drink too fast, talk while you eat, chew gum, suck on hard candies, drink carbonated beverages, or smoke.