Why do potatoes get soft?

Raw potatoes will get soft because they are drying, and losing moisture

---

As potatoes bake, their starch granules soften in the heat and absorb the surrounding moisture. As they increase in size and often burst, granular particles separate from one another, making the texture of the potato mealy and fluffy.