Is a pterodactyl a dinosaur?

Neither birds nor bats, pterodactyls were reptiles, close cousins of dinosaurs who evolved on a separate branch of the reptile family tree. They were also the first animals after insects to evolve powered flight by flapping their wings to generate lift and travel through the air