Why did they call the montreal canadiens the haves?

Habitants or Habs as a nickname for the Canadiens has its roots in a mistake made by Tex Rickard, former owner of Madison Square Garden in New York. In a 1924 interview, he apparently told a reporter that the “H” in the Canadiens' logo stood for “Habitants”. The "H" actually stands for hockey.