How long does it take for benadryl to kick in?

Benadryl usually works in 20 minutes. It depends on how quickly you metabolizes food. Benadryl usually works for about 6 hours. If you have an anaphylactic reaction, you need to get emergency medical attention so that the reaction does not come back when the Benadryl wears off.