What pasta is sauce?

As the name implies pasta sauce is sauce that goes on pasta. Commercially available pasta sauces often contain tomato as a main ingredient. Additionally natural and artificial additives such as basil, oregano, cheese and preservatives end up in canned commercial sauces.