How are different flavors?

There are five universally accepted basic tastes that stimulate and are perceived by our taste buds: sweet, salty, sour, bitter and umami. While the others are easily recognized, Umami is the savory or meaty taste of foods. A specific food is a may easily be a combination of more than one flavor.