How hard is amethyst?

The hardness of Amethyst is a 7 out of 10 on the Mohs scale of mineral hardness, or less with impurities. For comparison, a diamond has a harness of 10, topaz 8, emerald 7.5, quartz 7, titanium 6, steel 4.5, iron & nickel 4, platinum 3.5, copper 3, & gold 2.5.