What is h. b. o.'s the outsider about?

An HBO adaptation of Stephen King's novel The Outsider follows police detective Ralph Anderson and private eye Holly Gibney as they investigate the murder and violation of an 11-year-old boy. Terry Maitland, a suburban parent, is accused of a grisly murder.