What does yellow kryptonite do?

Gold Kryptonite is a rare form of the mineral that would destroy a Kryptonian's ability to process yellow sunlight, thus permanently removing their superpowers. Exposure to Gold Kryptonite may not destroy Superman, but it will strip away his superpowers forever.