What is a winnowing fork?

Ptyon, the word translated as winnowing fork in the World English Bible is a tool similar to a pitchfork that would be used to lift harvested wheat up into the air into the wind. The wind would then blow away the lighter chaff allowing the edible grains to fall to the threshing floor