What's the difference between red and green lentils?

Green lentils come in two varieties, while red lentils come in more than 2 varieties. Green lentils have a stronger earthy flavor than the red lentils. Green lentils, when cooked, remain firm, and will not disintegrate with longer cooking times, while red lentils disintegrate with prolonged cooking