What continent is closest to antarctica?

South America is the closest continent to Antarctica. The closest point of South America is shared by Argentina and Chile. The Argentinian station Vice Comodoro Marambio is on the tip of the Antarctic Peninsula. It's only 1,238 km south of Ushuaia in Argentina.