Who was the first person to discover canada?

Not considering aboriginals already living on the Canadian territory, the European discovery of Canada can be attributed to John Cabot in 1497, who mapped the Atlantic shore, although the first settlement was established in 1604 by Samuel de Champlain, in the name of France.