How does a dreamcatcher work?

They float down the hanging beads and feathers to sleeping children. Bad dreams, however, are caught in the web. As the first rays of the morning light hit the dream catcher, the bad dreams disappear. ... They send good dreams to the sleeper and the bad dreams away.