Why do geese stand on one foot?

Birds legs have an adaptation that minimizes heat loss. The arteries that transport warm blood into the legs lie in contact with the veins that return colder blood to the bird's heart. By standing on one leg, a bird reduces by half the amount of heat lost through unfeathered limbs.