Where did the name hamburger come from?

The term hamburger originally derives from Hamburg,[2] Germany's second-largest city. Hamburg was also one of the major ports through which German emigrants to the Americas left in the 19th century. Hamburger in German is the demonym of Hamburg, similar to frankfurter and wiener.