Why are police cars blue?

One reason is simple science: The human eye sees blue more brightly at night. Then there's the contrast with the tail lights of other vehicles

---

Police cars are blue and white or black and white for identification reasons. Police cars Where Yellow and white, or all Yellow and could have also been Yellow and Black in the 70's to late 80's. The lead used in the yellow paint and expense of the yellow paint.