Who played dorothy in the original wizard of oz?

Dorothy Gale, the heroine in the 1939 musical “The Wizard of Oz,” was played by Judy Garland. The film was not a big money maker and was not considered a success until after it was first televised in 1956. It is now among the most popular movies.