Where did soup originate?

Archaeologists believe humans have been making soup for at least 20,000 years. The first soups were probably gruels, a mixture of boiled grains & water, similar to today’s oatmeal or grits. Soup may have gotten its name from Ancient Rome, based on the Latin word suppa, which means bread in broth.