Why do bed bugs exist?

Despite the overall consensus that the earth's ecosystem could survive without bed bugs, some scientists insist that bed bugs are a food source for spiders, a very necessary element for making the planet habitable.

---

Bed bugs have been known human parasites for thousands of years. They have no beneficial value.