Was there a recession in nineteen twenty?

Yes, the recession lasted from January 1920 to July 1921, or 18 months, according to the National Bureau of Economic Research.

---

The Depression of 1920–1921 was a sharp deflationary recession in the United States, United Kingdom and other countries, beginning 14 months after the end of World War I. It lasted from January 1920 to July 1921.