How is gold made?

All of the gold found on Earth came from the debris of dead stars. As the Earth formed, heavy elements such as iron and gold sank toward the planet's core. It occurs as flakes, as the pure native element, and with silver in the natural alloy electrum. Erosion frees the gold from other minerals