How long do you have to cook lentils for?

Bring the lentils to a boil, cover tightly, reduce heat and simmer until tender. For whole lentils, cook time is 15-20 minutes. For split red lentils, cook time is typically only about 5-7 minutes. Be sure to season with salt after cooking – if salt is added before, the lentils will become tough.