How big is a pencil?

A standard, hexagonal, "#2 pencil" is cut to a hexagonal height of 1⁄4-inch (6 mm), but the outer diameter is slightly larger (about 9⁄32-inch (7 mm)) A standard, #2, hexagonal pencil is 19 cm (7.5 in) long.