Can dogs cry tears?

Dogs have tear ducts likes humans. However, dog's do not produce tears for emotional reasons like humans. A dog's tears are used to clear the eyes of irritants such as dust. It could also be the result of allergies, blocked tear ducts, infection or a scratched cornea.