Is methane a fossil fuel?

Since methane is a natural gas- then yes it is a fossil fuel.

---

Methane is the cleanest burning fossil fuel, but can also be produced by biological processes such as the digestive systems of livestock. While it is clean-burning, it is also a potent greenhouse gas, and is 2nd only to CO2 in terms of how much it contributes to global warming.