Where does earwax come from?

The wax in your ears is made by glands in the skin of your outer ear canal. The wax and tiny hairs in these passages trap dust and other materials that could damage deeper parts of your ear, such as your eardrum. In most people, a small amount of earwax regularly makes its way to the ear opening