Is cognac the same as brandy?

Brandy and Cognac are two drinks that are often confused for one another, but there are some distinct differences between them. Brandy is a broad term referring to a liquor made from fermented fruit juice that is distilled. Meanwhile, Cognac is a type of brandy made only in Cognac, France.

---

Cognac is a specific type of brandy made in the Cognac region of France.