What's the substitute for liquid smoke?

Smoked paprika, a spice made by drying peppers over oak burning fires for several weeks, is a great alternative. Smoke tea (or lapsang souchong) can be used as a dry rub on meats or to flavor soups or stews in need of a smoky kick. Chipotle powder is famous for its smoky flavor.