Why is the club sandwich called a club sandwich?

The club sandwich was named after the restaurant it was created in. There is debate between which restaurant it was, It was either the Union Club of New York City in 1889 or the Saratoga Club in Saratoga Springs, New York in 1894. Either way, it’s a delicious sandwich!