Why do bees buzz?

These vibrations shake the pollen off the flower's anthers and onto the bee's body. Some of that pollen then gets deposited on the next flower the bee visits, resulting in pollination. When bumblebees vibrate flowers to release pollen, the corresponding buzz is quite loud.