What's encounters of the third kind?

In UFOlogy a close encounter is an event in which a person witnesses an unidentified flying object. There are 3 types of close encounters. The third kind, also known as first contact, is an encounter in which an animated entity, such as a humanoid or robot, seem to be occupants or pilots of the UFO.