What are sources of radon?

Radon is emitted by radium in the ground, groundwater and building materials. It can enter the indoor air where it and its decay products accumulate in poorly ventilated areas. Harmful levels of radon and radon progeny can accumulate in confined air spaces, such as basements and crawl spaces.