How did kanye west become a billionaire?

The bulk of West's fortune—$1.5 billion—is from his popular sneaker brand, Yeezy, which he owns in its entirety. Filling out his bank account is $160 million in cash and other assets—more than $100 million of which is from homes in Los Angeles and Wyoming.