What is paca wood?

Pakkawood is the name of impregnated wood veneers used in knife production to make handle scales. ... Unlike conventional veneer, Pakkawood is an umbrella term for wood veneers consisting of several layers of high-quality hardwood. The layers are pressed, impregnated, sanded and polished.