What is a dormant mean?

Dormant means not active but capable of becoming active. Such as an animal having normal physical functions suspended or slowed down for a period of time; in or as if in a deep sleep. For example, bears become dormant in winter going into a deep sleep with breathing and heart rate slowing down.