How do you convert regular milk to buttermilk?

There are a couple of different definitions for buttermilk, here is the baking trick. If you are looking for buttermilk in a recipe, they are asking you to sour the milk. Add a teaspoon of lemon juice to the milk before stirring it in. This adds acidity to the recipe and activates the baking soda.